The meaning of the symbols on the Statue of Liberty

One of New York’s most famous landmarks is the Statue of Liberty, but have you ever wondered what the meaning of the torch, book and crown symbolise?

She holds a torch in her right hand and in her left hand she carries a tablet with July 4th 1776 inscribed on it in Roman numerals.  The statue is a symbol of American freedom and a beacon lighting the way for immigrants.  The Statue of Liberty was a gift from the people of France to commemorate the U.S. centennial.

The torch represents “Liberty Enlightening the World” which was the original name of the statue.   The crown of 7 spokes represents the 7 seas and the 7 continents.  The 25 windows in the crown represent the 25 gemstones found on earth.  Broken chains symbolizing   the overthrow of tyranny lie at the statue’s feet.

The statue consists of an iron framework covered with thin sheets of copper. It’s 151 feet high and weighs 225 tons.  It was sent over to the states in 214 packing cases.

When the sculptor, Frederick Auguste Bartholdi visied America, he spotted Bedloe’s Island as he sailed into New York harbour and wanted his statue place there.  So the island was renamed Liberty Island and the statue replaced an fortification called Fort Wood.

The cornerstone was laid on August 4th 1884, and two years later the Statue of Liberty was unveiled by President Grover Cleveland who said “We will not foget that liberty here made her home; nor shall her chosen alter be neglected.”